Welcome to Books on the Common — Ridgefield’s proudly independent bookstore since 1984. We carry books on all subjects for adults and children — over 18,000 titles in stock, with millions more just a day away. We also feature a large selection of quality greeting cards, stationery, gift items and gift certificates. Stop in and see us!

Photo: Carol Mark

Photo: Carol Mark


 We’re excited about our next upcoming event!  Please click here to see more upcoming author events.

Elissa Altman Author Talk and Book Signing

November 3, 2016treyf
Ridgefield Library
472 Main Street
Ridgefield, CT 06877
Main Program Room
7:00 PM – 9:00 PM

Join us as the Washington Post columnist and James Beard Award-winning author of Poor Man’s Feast, Elissa Altman, discusses her latest memoir Treyf, a story about seeking truth, acceptance, and self in a world of contradiction.

Treyf: According to Leviticus, unkosher and prohibited, like lobster, shrimp, pork, fish without scales, the mixing of meat and dairy. Also, imperfect, intolerable, offensive, undesirable, unclean, improper, broken, forbidden, illicit.

Fans of Augusten Burroughs and Jo Ann Beard will enjoy this kaleidoscopic, universal memoir in which Elissa Altman explores the tradition, religion, family expectations, and the forbidden that were the fixed points in her Queens, New York, childhood. Every part of Altman’s youth was laced with contradiction and hope, betrayal and the yearning for acceptance: synagogue on Saturday and Chinese pork ribs on Sunday; bat mitzvahs followed by shrimp-in-lobster-sauce luncheons; her old-country grandparents, whose kindness and love were tied to unspoken rage, and her bell-bottomed neighbors, whose adoring affection hid dark secrets.

While the suburban promise of The Brady Bunch blared on television, Altman searched for peace and meaning in a world teeming with faith, violence, sex, and paradox. Spanning from 1940s wartime Brooklyn to 1970s Queens to present-day rural New England, Treyf captures the collision of youthful cravings and grown-up identities. It is a vivid tale of what it means to come to yourself both in spite and in honor to your past.

Please register here.
Lesley Lambton 203-438-2282 lalambton@ridgefieldlibrary.org

We’re on Facebook! Stay connected to Books on the Common through Facebook by becoming a fan. You’ll get the latest information on events and store news. Plus, we are always interested in what you have to say. Spread the word about our Facebook page so your friends are also connected!